girlrock: (814)
[personal profile] girlrock
i will write general travel + disney logs later, but i thought it would be helpful (i guess for personal reference when crosschecking prices for future gps, but also in case anyone is thinking about going to the china gp) to make an objective summary & overview of my race weekend experience!

1. seating
2. ticketing
3. lodging
4. transit
5. apps
6. track experience

πŸ’Ί SEATING
to start, regardless of grandstand, china gp is overall cheaper than the american + australian races (having been to austin, montreal, and melbourne). there was no price hike between 2024 and 2025 and then a small price hike this year in 2026, but the 3-day gs prices ranged from 1580 to 4680 RMB (~230 to 680 USD). a key element here is that there is no dynamic pricing, which is particularly egregious for melbourne and the american races that "claim" 700-dollar tickets but end up being 1k lol.

also to note, the pricing this year was like this:
β€” A platinum β€” 4680 RMB (~680 USD)
β€” A high β€” 3280 RMB (~477 USD) ← what we got
β€” A low β€” 2580 RMB (~375 USD)
β€” B β€” 2180 RMB (317 USD)

A plat is imo NOT worth it, it's just the A high grandstand in the middle of the start-finish straight + free snacks/a mini hospitality area, but it really makes no sense that this is prized above the left and right sides of gs A. on the left, where we were sat, we had a perfect view of the first sector and a decent part of the faraway track. the right side doesn't have as good of a view but you get the top garages and the podium celebration, so there's value there if that's what you like in your race experience. the middle is kind of like... okay? idk it doesn't really offer any advantage.

anyway if you want to save 150 dollars, then i think grandstand B would also be worth it, although i didn't actually go there and see the view so this is just conjecture. basically all the fanzone stuff happens behind grandstand A, so E is really the worst one to be in because it takes forever to go there and is away from all the fun, but B was right beyond our grandstand area so i think it'd be fine too and you'd get the same view of the first sector. i do strongly believe A high > A low is worth shelling out for though, especially since having height over the garages is what made the track view so good (it would have been a very different experience if we'd been blocked by them). do note though that if you have a D-zone ticket (it goes ABCD height-wise) you have to walk 8 flights of stairs every time 😭


β€”

🎟️ TICKETING
ticketing happens around december so like with most gps you will probably want to book other things (flights, lodging, etc.) before you actually get these tickets. it is also very competitive but we thankfully were able to make it work!

there are multiple ways to ticket for china gp:
β€” use the chinese wechat mini program
β€” use juss sports's english website @ https://ztmen.jussyun.com
β€” buy third-party from a reputable international vendor, e.g. p1travel, gpticketshop, gpdestinations, etc.

*note: at the gp this year they were giving out gift packages to "foreign visitors" but we weren't eligible!!! i think this is because i bought through juss sports, even though it was the english site and i used my american passport. so i guess this is given to anyone who buys through an international third-party vendor

for ticketing, i had my mom + literally everyone she knew on wechat try to help me ticket but none of them were able to get them. i'm like 99.9% sure that the wechat mini program interface is the same as their english site, but she was ADAMANT that the stock they provided for the wechat program and the english page are somehow different and that's why she wasn't able to get any... do i believe her well this is unclear. weak excuses from someone who was never able to get me bts tickets circa 2018 tbh. either way i was able to get tickets myself via juss sports at face value so you don't need a chinese number/id to make it work.

note again that the process may change for 2027 and beyond so i highly rec subscribing to r/GrandPrixTravel to receive the most updated information available.

anyway when you log into juss sports, go to your profile and PREFILL your personal information, which will include your PASSPORT. you need this beforehand to connect your identity to the tickets you buy so this will save you precious time during the ticketing bloodbath. if you're ticketing for multiple people, you can also add and connect multiple spectators to one profile.

that's the gist of it. if direct purchase through the site doesn't work, then just keep an eye on resellers with the caveat that there will be an 100+ USD upcharge :/

β€”

πŸ›οΈ LODGING
i won't go over travel since it's so variable and subjective based on where you're from! next up is lodging, which thankfully is super cheap (at least by american standards).

the shanghai circuit has its own metro stop on line 11, and i highly recommend finding lodging by a nearby stop to shorten your transit to the track, especially if you head over early like we did for fanstage on friday & saturday. if you're coming in from the city center, even on line 11, it'll take 40+ minutes since the jiading district is quite west.

WHERE WE STAYED:
β€” since we had a full week in shanghai, we first stayed in a tiny, tiny hostel (it was very comfortable though i loved it... the entire room was literally our bunk bed and yet our mattress was sooo comfortable) off of nanjing rd in the city center. amazing location and incredibly convenient if you're doing shopping and touristing, but on thursday evening we took a didi to our next hotel so we'd have an easier time getting to the track on friday.
β€” from friday to sunday we stayed at a hotel by shanghai automobile city, 2 stops away from saic. 3 nights for 2 people cost 470 RMB, or 68 usd, so $11 a night pp. it took us about 10-15 minutes to get to the track every morning.
β€” on sunday night, we moved to an "airport" hotel (a hotel like 20 minutes away from the airport, literally middle of nowhere, extremely cursed vibes ngl) so that we'd have an easier time transiting in the morning. honestly not necessary and i think we could have just taken a didi from our f1 hotel and been fine!


i'm probably overexplaining but i liked our metro stop a lot although it had very little happening (really just some tiny restaurants, the stop, and one convenience store). though this made it quite convenient and not-busy to get to the track! staying west of the circuit is nice because fewer people are going to/from thereβ€”most people are coming from the east and the city center, so you can cut out some of the craziness that way. also anting and changji are actually bigger stops and have metro malls so there are multiple options for lodging and eating etc. you don't have to worry about the location at all.

β€”

🚊 TRANSIT
the three main modes of transportation:
β€” didi: you can just download this once you're in china, it's obviously cheaper than the us on average and quite convenient. just doublecheck the fares because some types are estimate prices and some are upfront, and also you pay the bill after your ride and not before.
β€” metro: this accepts regular wechat & alipay tap to pay (more on this later) so is very easy to navigate. note that metro stations in china have security at the entrance with a bag scanner, so it's not super convenient to travel with very big suitcases (at least we didn't try... because we were too lazy lol). trains are super efficient though and run basically every 2 mins with a by-the-second countdown.
β€” bus: each ride is 2 kuai, literally the only place i saw people use coins in shanghai. the bus doesn't accept regular wechat/alipay tap to pay, but you can use the 乘车码 mini program in wechat to set up a qr code.

β€”

πŸ“² APPS
β€” didi
β€” wechat: set up payments here. also if you know anyone in china, you can ask them to set up a relative card with a set allowance so that you have a tangible balance in the app. wechat will also be useful to load mini programs to order virtually at restaurants/boba places since almost everywhere is scan to order.
β€” alipay: same as wechat, some places will only accept alipay and vice versa so good to have both. tbh the most nerve wracking part about china is that it's very digital but my roaming data was very very slow (especially on track) so i looked like an idiot about 40% of the times i tried to pay. otherwise it's all very simple and convenient
β€” apple maps / amap: you won't be able to access these outside of china, but once you're in the country you can use either. they're basically the same (apple maps pulls amap data in china) so it really comes down to ux preference. you don't need to be able to read/write chinese, but it does help if you know pinyin because the names will often be the romanized versions of the chinese names and not actual translations... for example heytea in amaps is XICHA (ε–œθŒΆπŸ˜­). also if you want to find your nearest Mall area with guaranteed food literally just search xicha or chagee and you'll find Treats in your midst. usually within 5 minutes no matter where you are in the city

β€”

🏎️ TRACK EXPERIENCE


β€” getting to the track: 2 stops on line 11, very efficient, not super busy (GOING there. getting back is a different story)
β€” arrival time: gates on friday and saturday were at 8 AM β€” we arrived on friday at 7:25 AM and on saturday at 6:50 AM. they don't open the "pre-gate" (there were sooo many checkpoints and places to Wait) to the main entrance 1 area until 7 AM, so if you get there before you basically get herded behind the pre-gate and then made to run to the actual line. then once real gates open you will run again to the security checkpoint, scan your bag and face, then run again to the fanstage. thankfully the fanstage is pretty close to gates! i say this having gone to melbourne without even caring about melb walk... WAY easier and less competitive and overall more chill.
β€” registration: foreigners need to go to the registration booth to scan your face and doublecheck your passport, so this is a consideration if you're planning on lining up early... we weren't really sure what to expect on friday and didn't know where to line up either so that took up some time. friday had red bull/ferrari/mercedes while saturday had mclaren, so i cared more about saturday but i was with risa and wanted us to get a good ferrari experience as well.
β€” entering: this year in shanghai there were two ways to enter: the regular entrances and the vip entrance. UNBEKNOWNST to us, but very serendipitously, you could enter the vip line (and then go through any of the entrances for security, you just got let in first) if you had an american express card! so using risa's card we were able to get priority entrance on saturday, which got us 3rd row center at the fanstage. fanstage also started earlier on saturday (8:20 AM) because of sprint scheduling, so we only had to wait 20 minutes after gates which imo was super worth it. i'm too old and weak for melb walk but i can do Low-Impact Fanstage GA.


β€” free things on track: compared to montreal and melbourne, the free offerings were kind of underwhelming but i was also just too lazy to wait for most things because the lines were so absurd (this is usual for most gps, but was especially crazy as consequence of the fanzone being so concentrated + not being a 4-day experience like melbourne imo... we did most of our Free Goodie Searching on thursday in melb when there were fewer people around). there was the usual lego booth but you didn't even get to build a lego...! you just designed a digital card!!! and then amex had the usual seat cushion and radio (mix of chinese and english commentators switching off) + were giving out little enamel charms which were cute but not as cute as the patches from aus25.
β€” food options: food inside the track was a lot of preheated meals, overpriced for the area of course but not bad compared to the us (about 40-60 RMB per meal, so 6-9 USD). if you're hungry and want to eat onsite then just go right outside the gates to the food court area where the quality is slightly better and there's plenty of seating space too. and of course bring your own snacks!!!
β€” things off track: right outside the track area there was a food court with skewers, mini shengjianbao, random stuff... pilaf... and there were also other kinds of events and minigames and booths (we actually did this at a mall nearby but there was a shanghai auto culture festival booth where you could stamp layered prints for the race which was very cool!), so definitely worth checking out.


β€” fan exchanges: i was in the op81 wechat group so i could join the group photos, get the mini flag, go to the 81bakery cafe event etc., but obviously this depends on your driver and how their fanbase organizes in china. teamlh was crazy!!! i don't know what the parameters were but people had the coolest purple corduroy tote bags they looked sick. anyway outside of grandstand A there was basically constant organization and exchanges happening, although i mostly did my mingling during the photo gatherings because i didn't know how else to seek people out... everyone is very sweet and generous and will often give out free items, but i definitely regret not ordering a batch of my koaloscar keychains so i could reciprocate (i did give out some of my stickers but i didn't have many left and felt bad because the quality was kind of low... a lot of fans commission artists and then bulk-buy sets of items to give out but i was just like Do you want a homemade homeprinted self-drawn fugly sticker of chibiosc... sorry T__T). either way super cool atmosphere and just sooo different from other races where i was actively self-conscious giving out free goods so i loved getting to experience that. definitely bring things if you want to be involved in that exchange because there will be plenty going on


β€” track sessions: once you're in the circuit the only other time you have to ticket check i.e. scan your face in the camera (this is how i felt walking up every time btw) is when you're entering the grandstand. i don't have much to comment on the track sessions since like, this is kind of specific to the year you know... it was a sprint weekend which is hit or miss but i liked it because i thought every session was sooo crazy! unfortunately sprints are often entertaining for live audiences it's really just that most people are going to about 0-1 live races a year so it lacks value outside of this extremely specific experience. either way, our section was nice (our first time having actual seats! we've been Bleachers4Lyfe until now. my butt has never thanked me more) and overall well-behaved. when i say no one booed the paddock club trucks as they were driving by?!?!


β€” leaving the track: the final f1 sessions each day were between 4-5 PM. getting off the track was a bit of a nightmare but it really always is with f1 so i can't be surprised. i was honestly terrified of crowd crush getting out of montreal, and then in melbourne the congestion to the main exits was so bad i remember us walking all the way to another exit just to find transit and even walking all the way back to the city (about 50 minutes) another day when we had no way of catching a tram... so it really wasn't so bad! it was just crowded and slow because of the crowd control and the one million "checkpoints" we had to walk up to and wait at. between gates and the metro was about 40 minutes which isn't the end of the world.

β€” after the track: on friday we took the metro one stop east to jiading xincheng to go to the mall, shop, eat dinner etc. (i think this is where we did the stamp booth). then on saturday we went the other way and went to anting... i think. again every stop has a big metro mall and plenty to do/eat so it's super chill once you get to the metro and OUT of there, it's just a bit overstimulating while you're waiting to exit. also to speed up the process they won't make you pay on the way out of the track, but since the metro is tap on + tap off you'll have to go to an agent to fix it when you get to your destination stop 😭 a bit convoluted but that's just f1 weekends.

β€”

this is all i can think of at the moment... at the end of the day what's most important is having fun!!! i will update with anything important if i think of it

it's two mcl and fer girlies telling each other ezactlyyyy πŸ₯°